The Art of Deconstructing Meals

The skill of deconstructing food is one that any LCer should explore.  So what do I mean by ‘deconstructing’ food? It’s something I’ve become rather good at, even if I say so myself. It came about when my husband decided we were going to have hamburgers for dinner one night; naturally that meant no bread for me, no ketchup, no caramelised onion. What it did mean was that I received a plate with two hamburger patties – made from scratch, no breadcrumbs, and only a little red onion! – served alongside beetroot, lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, and a lightly-spiced mayo. It was, literally, a deconstructed hamburger – and I ate every last bit of it.

So, clearly, deconstructing is all about serving food in such a way that you’re not eating the wrong carbs. It’s easy enough to do with homemade hamburgers, but what else can you do? Pasta and sauce? Spaghetti bolognaise? You’ve been avoiding these, no doubt. My mother-in-law has taken to replacing my serves of pasta with gently-boiled cabbage instead – not quite the same, but definitely better than just sauce. Speaking of, try to make your sauce from scratch, that way you know what’s gone into it and you know that you’re not eating hidden carbs in the form of sweeteners or thickeners.

In our household we also get spectacular salads with every dinner meal; which is fantastic, except that sometimes there’s bits in there that I’m not eating like onion, shallots, or crunchy noodles. That’s alright though, I just scoot those to the side and don’t eat them; it’s a fiddlier form of deconstruction, but it’s still a deconstruction!

There’s a whole heap of meals you can do this with, especially if the rest of the household/family isn’t eating LC. Just make sure you’ve got an idea of what’s actually gone into the food and you can pretty much work around the carbs. Obviously there’s meals you can’t do this with, but for the most part a little ingenuity goes a long way.

Anyone have any deconstructing stories, ideas or tips? I’d love to hear about them!

Clear skies,
Vee

2 thoughts on “The Art of Deconstructing Meals”

Leave a Reply

