A Word About: Peanuts

I have a weakness for peanut butter – so much so that just now, typing the word made me crave it intensely. Luckily for me, most PB is low enough carb to fit into my regime: the best kind is homemade, or, in my case the stuff that Upper Ferntree Organics sell that I’m very lucky to have access to. (For those of you in Melbourne: 1232 Burwood Hwy, Upper Ferntree Gully, VIC3156. Ph. 03 9752 2688) I haven’t had it in forever, but it is by far the best pb that I’ve had. That said, if you don’t have access to organic, homemade, preservative-free, gluten-free pb, that’s okay, store-bought brands will do the thing too. And if you’re anti pb for some reason – maybe you don’t like the way it sticks to your mouth? I don’t know. – peanuts are your answer.

“Answer? What’re you going on about, Vee?”

Bear with me, this isn’t just some ramble about one of my favourite foods, I promise it actually serves a purpose.

As it turns out, peanuts – and the pb! – help in lowering and maintaining blood sugar levels. I stumbled across this fact while reading one of the many blogs I read, and the author commented that she’d given in and eaten a popular candy bar but figured the peanuts in it would lessen the damage of the chocolate. I raised an eyebrow when I read that comment, thinking she was making excuses for herself. Turns out, I was wrong, she was right.

As we already know, as nuts, peanuts are fairly good on the GI level, not affecting it all that much. Several studies I came across stated that a handful of peanuts or a small spoonful of peanut butter were enough to have a positive effect on steadying blood sugar levels.  Additionally, because it’s so high in fat and relatively high in sodium, you’re going to feel satisfied with your little snack, keeping you from raiding the pantry any further. This makes it an ideal snack for diabetics and pre-diabetics as maintaining a healthy diet is one of the prime means by which we deal with these issues.

And then there’s the magnesium.  Peanuts, like many nuts, are chock full of the stuff, and because they break down slowly you’ll regulate your magnesium levels while you’re at it.

There’s a wealth of information out there, waiting to be found, and I’ll definitely keep looking into it – I mean, hey, any excuse to eat pb right? But I also want to give a shout out to those of you who struggle with peanut/nut allergies. Of all the allergies, I think I’m right in saying that the peanut allergy is one of the most prevalent and I feel for anyone who struggles with it or has to watch their child struggle with it.

Clear skies,
Vee

Recommended reading:

The Peanut Institute – Diabetes and Blood Sugar
Diabetes in Control – Peanut Butter at Breakfast Helps Control Hunger and Blood Sugar All Day

Leave a Reply

